27 California Counties Qualify for Drought-Related Assistance

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Valley Farmers Switching Up Crops due to Climate Change

File photo


More than two dozen counties in California are labeled as natural disaster areas because of the amount of damage and loss caused by extreme drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 27 counties statewide; including Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Contra Costa, El Dorado, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Stanislaus and Tuolumne.

Farmers and other “agricultural operators” in these counties may qualify for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency. Counties that border one of the disaster counties also qualify for some natural disaster assistance.

Farmers and ranches in disaster counties have eight months from the date of declaration to apply for assistance to cover part of their actual losses.

To find more information, contact the county Farm Service Agency Office, or online at www.usda.gov/ca.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s