Gov. Newsom: Stay-at-home order lifted in Greater Sacramento region ‘effective immediately’

Local News

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (KTXL) — Gov. Gavin Newsom says the Greater Sacramento region will no longer be under the state’s stay-at-home order “effective immediately.”

“So, California remains in its most intense surge today but there are some good things to report. We’re starting to see some stabilization, both in ICUs as well as stabilization in our positivity rate. We’re also starting to see the rate of growth for hospitalizations beginning to decline. So much so that today, effective immediately, we’re pulling the Sacramento region out of the stay-at-home order. They’ll now be in the old blueprint in the purple tier,” Newsom said in a video.

Newsom’s announcement came hours after California Secretary of Health and Human Services Dr. Mark Ghaly said regions under the stay-at-home order would remain there indefinitely, but added that data was actively being calculated.

Under the state’s purple tier, restaurants, gyms, theaters, museums, zoos and family centers can operate outdoors. Salons, barbershops and personal care businesses can operate indoors with modifications. Retail businesses can reopen with 25% occupancy.

The county said a revised health order in line with the state’s purple tier would go into effect Wednesday, adding its four-week projected ICU capacity is 19%.

Yuba County’s Office of Emergency Services also posted to Facebook saying the Yuba-Sutter health officer had learned from CDPH officials that the order would be lifted.

“This afternoon, the California Department of Public Health contacted Dr. Luu with the unexpected news that the Regional State-At-Home order for the Greater Sacramento Region is being lifted,” the Yuba County OES said.

The state’s stay-at-home order went into effect in the Greater Sacramento region on Dec. 10 and was meant to expire on Jan. 2. It was extended when the CDPH said projections showed the region’s ICU capacity was likely to drop.

The Greater Sacramento region includes Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba counties.

Don't miss

More Featured

Latest News

More News